31° F
Light Snow
Light Snow

Monona Grove wins state Div. 2 boys swimming title

Published On: Feb 15 2013 09:23:46 PM CST   Updated On: Feb 15 2013 09:24:35 PM CST


The Monona Grove Silver Eagles won the WIAA State Division Two boys swimming championship Friday night at the UW Natorium.

It was the first state boys swimming title in school history.

MG started the night by winning the 200 Yard Medley Relay behind Mitchell Paull, Tyler Roehr, Andrew Sackett and Alex Kimmell.

The Silver Eagles also won the 200 yard freestyle relay as Lars Doll joined Kimmell, Sackett and Roehr for the victory.

Roehr won the 200 Yard IM title in a time of 21.81 seconds, just edging out Milton's Spencer Mattox by 17-hudredths of a second.

Mattox won the 100 yard breaststroke in 57.35.

Milton's Brandon Benson took first in the 100 yard butterfly in 51.79 seconds.

Fort Atkinson's Lee Hollman was the winner in the 100 yard freestyle in 48.92.

Hollman then anchored Fort's winning 400 yard freestyle relay to cap the evening. Also swimming legs in the relay were Tyler Zaspel, Paul Hill and Avery Kan.

Team scores:

1. Monona Grove     258

2. Madison Edgewood 209

3. Milton            198

4. McFarland       190.5

5. Fort Atkinson      159

6. Grafton          156

7. Shorewood      126

8. Whitefish Bay    103

9. Plymouth   98.5

10. Sauk Prairie/Wisconsin Heights   98