31° F

Fast facts: Sept. 11 victim aid and compensation

Published On: Jul 27 2013 03:13:21 PM CDT   Updated On: Sep 11 2013 05:59:13 AM CDT
9-11 aerial 2

NYC Police Aviation Unit

(CNN) -

Here is some background about the September 11th Victims Compensation Fund and the James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Act of 2010.


From 2001-2003 the September 11th Victims Compensation Fund processed claims relating to injuries and deaths caused by the terrorist attacks of Sept. 11, 2001.

The fund received 7,408 applications from 75 countries. Awards were made in 5,560 of those cases and totaled $7 billion.

The fund received 2,963 death claims. This accounted for more than 98 percent of eligible families.

Funds were distributed in 2,880 of these cases. The average award was $2,082,128 and went as high as $7.1 million.

The fund received 4,445 personal injury claims.

Funds were distributed in 2,680 of these cases. The awards ranged from $500.00 to $8.6 million.

The money was tax-free.

In 2011, the fund was reopened to compensate first responders and individuals who later experienced health problems related to 9/11.


Nov. 26, 2001 - Kenneth R. Feinberg is appointed the special master in charge of the federal Victim Compensation Fund.

June 15, 2004 - The September 11th Victims Compensation Fund finishes its work processing death and injury claims from families and relatives of 9/11 victims. Families of those killed had until Dec. 22, 2003 to apply for compensation. Families who agree to get compensation from the federal fund agree not to sue the airlines.

Nov. 8, 2004 - A report by the Rand Institute for Civil Justice finds that victims of the Sept. 11, 2001 attacks received an average of $3.1 million per person, totaling $8.7 billion. About $38 billion in all is paid out by the government, charities and insurance companies. Insurance companies pay the most, covering 51 percent. The majority of the money goes to New York City businesses.

Jan. 2, 2011 - President Barack Obama signs the First Responders Bill, also known as the James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Act, reactivating the September 11th Victim Compensation Fund that ran from 2001-2003. The act expands health coverage and compensation to first responders and individuals who have developed 9/11-related health problems.

May 18, 2011 - Attorney General Eric Holder names Sheila L. Birnbaum as special master of September 11th Victim Compensation Fund. She administers the fund created by the James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Act.

Sept. 30, 2011 - The September 11th Victim Compensation Fund reopens to serve those eligible for claims under the James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Act.

Oct. 31, 2011 - The reopened 9/11 Victim Compensation Fund begins taking applications.

Aug. 15, 2012 - Sheila Birnbaum announces that award distribution is on hold until the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health makes a decision about adding cancer to the list of illnesses covered by the Zadroga Act.

Sept. 12, 2012 - The final rule adding 58 types of cancer to "the List of WTC-Related Health Conditions" is published in the Federal Register.

June 21, 2013 - Since its reopening, the VCF has received 17,453 registrations, but only 1,341 completed claims. Of those, 669 have been awarded eligibility, and $5.98 million has been doled out in compensation.