63° F

Kaminsky named first team All-Big Ten

Published On: Mar 10 2014 06:20:10 PM CDT
Updated On: Mar 10 2014 06:32:57 PM CDT


Wisconsin Badger junior forward Frank Kaminsky was named first team All-Big Ten by both the coaches and the media vote Monday.

Kaminsky leads the Badgers in scoring (13.4 per game) and rebounding (6.4 per game). Many feel Kaminsky is the most improved player in the Big Ten.

Badger teammate Sam Dekker was named to the second team by the coaches and third team by the media.

Three Badgers received honorable mention- Ben Brust, Traevon Jackson and Josh Gasser.

Gasser was named to the All-Defensive team.

Nigel Hayes was named the Sixth Man of the Year and also named to the All-Freshman team.

Brust earned Wisconsin's Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

Michigan's Nic Stauskas was named the Big Ten's Player of the Year. Michigan's John Beilein was the Coach of the Year in the media vote, while the coaches selected Nebraska's Tim Miles.

Indiana's Noah Vonleh is the Freshman of the Year while Ohio State's Aaron Craft is the Big Ten's Defensive Player of the Year.

  • Marysville Pilchuck school shooting 4


    2 dead in school shooting near Seattle, sources say

    A school shooting has been reported at Marysville-Pilchuck High School in Marysville, Washington, about 35 miles north of Seattle.

  • Craig Spencer


    America's Ebola patients

    An American doctor who was working with Ebola patients in Guinea was been diagnosed with the disease after returning to New York. Learn more about him and America's other Ebola victims.

  • Hot peppers


    Notable food recalls

    A North Carolina producer of peppers and hot sauces is voluntarily recalling 6,215 pounds of fresh serrano chili peppers because some tested positive for salmonella. Here are other notable food recalls that made headlines.

  • jack-o-lantern Halloween pumpkin

    Juliet James/SXC


    Games, recipes, trick-or-treating, scary movies and everything else you need to make your Halloween extra spooky.

  • Politician, politics, debate, election

    iStock / bns124

    Election Coverage

    Get up-to-date on political stories, Reality Check the latest political ads, learn about the candidates and find election results in our special section.

  • Ebola virus pink


    Ebola special coverage

    Get the latest news on the Ebola outbreak and resources to help you learn more about the deadly virus.